Diving Certifications


Certifications matter – and not every commercial diving school offers the same thing. This is why it’s important to research which Commercial Diving program is the best fit for you.

Upon completion of our 900-hour program, and meeting the requirements set forth by each certifying authority while in school, DIT graduates can earn these certifications in addition to their commercial diving diploma.


These two main diving certifications allow DIT graduates to work domestically and globally.

  • Unrestricted Surface Supplied Diver certification from the Diver Certification Board of Canada (DCBC)
  • Entry level Diver/Tender–International Endorsement certification from the Association of Diving Contractors International (ADCI)


  1. 1. Unrestricted Surface Supplied Air Diver Certification with Occupational SCUBA Diver Endorsement, issued by the Diver Certification Board of Canada (DCBC) for the Canadian Standards Association (CSA): This certification allows you to work globally and opens you up to international job opportunities and world travel.
  2. 2. Association of Dive Contractors International (ADCI) Entry Level Tender/Diver–International Endorsement Certification: This certification allows you to obtain dive jobs in the US market and certain international markets.
  3. 3. DAN Diving First Aid for Professional Divers First Aid, CPR, A.E.D. and Oxygen Provider: Safety first! Commercial divers industry-wide are required to maintain up-to-date versions of these certifications to ensure job site safety.
  4. 4. Job Safety Analysis (JSA) Certificate: You’ll learn how to analyze hazardous operations and provide mitigating techniques or procedures to ensure all operations are conducted safely.
  5. 5. Qualified Rigger API (RP-2D) (REV-7): Shows you have a working knowledge of rigging techniques and procedures that you’ll use daily throughout your diving career.
  6. 6. Hazardous Waste Materials (HazMat) 40-hour OSHA 29 CFR 1910.120 and WAC 80-hour HAZWOPER Certification: As a diver you may elect to take jobs where you’ll handle toxic waste or hazardous materials on, around, or in the water. In order to accept these positions HAZMAT certification is required.
  7. 7,8. Level I Liquid Penetrant Testing 4-hour Initial Training Certificate (NDT) & Level II Magnetic Particle Testing 20-hour Initial Training Certificate (NDT): Completion certificates that show you’re qualified to perform basic NDT inspections in various sectors of the industry.
  8. 9. Kirby Morgan Hat User/Operator Certification: You will gain an operational knowledge of maintenance requirements for your critical life support systems provided by Kirby Morgan.
  9. 10,11. NAUI Open Water and NAUI Nitrox (EANX) SCUBA certifications: Demonstrates that you are trained in the proper use and care of standard SCUBA equipment as part of completing 10 program hours of Occupational SCUBA training.
  10. 12. Cylinder Services Fill Station Technician (FST): This certificate demonstrates that you are trained to operate a fill station.
  11. 13. Professional Commercial Diving Program Diploma

While going through training at the Divers Institute of Technology, I was impressed with the willingness of the staff to work with students as individuals; I never felt that I was just a number. I left DIT with the skills needed and the confidence to be successful in my career. I continue to have opportunities I attribute in large part to the staff and instructors – many of whom are still available to share their advice and experience with myself and other alumni.

– William WebbROV Operator at Oceaneering Intl.


A day in the life of a DIT Student

Divers Institute of Technology offers our students a wide variety of support services to enhance your education experience.

Let’s Get Started

Have questions about DIT? Want to know when the next class starts? Our friendly admissions advisors are here to help! Fill in the Request Info form and we’ll give you a call.